WE ARE ALL TREATY PEOPLE

The Numbered Treaties

Between 1871 and 1921, the British Crown and First Nations (Anishinaabe, Anishininiwak, Ininiwak, and Denesuline) entered into eleven separate Treaties that enabled the Government to actively pursue agriculture, settlement, transportation links and resource development in the Canadian West and North. These Treaties are commonly referred to as the Numbered Treaties and cover northern Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, north-eastern British Columbia and the Northwest Territories.

The First Nations negotiated and entered into the Numbered Treaties in order to formalize a long standing relationship with the Crown. This relationship developed through many years of interaction and trade with newcomers. The First Nations entered into Treaties to protect their livelihoods, cultures, languages and land bases. First Nations did not view the Treaties as a surrender of their land but as an agreement to share the land with Newcomers.

From the Crown's perspective, under the Numbered Treaties, the First Nations ceded tracts of land to the Crown in exchange for specific rights. These Treaty rights include: reserve lands for the sole use and benefit of First Nations, education, health, agricultural assistance, livestock, annuities, ammunition, clothing, taxation exemptions and continued rights to hunting, fishing, trapping and harvesting.

TREATY NO. 1

Treaty No. 1 was entered into on August 3, 1871 at Lower Fort Garry. Communities enjoying the benefits and responsibilities of Treaty No. 1 land include: Winnipeg, Portage La Prairie, Selkirk, Steinbach, Emerson and Winkler. The First Nation Treaty No. 1 communities are: Brokenhead, Long Plain, Peguis, Roseau River, Sagkeeng, Sandy Bay and Swan Lake.

TREATY NO. 2

Treaty No. 2 was entered into at Manitoba House on August 21, 1871. A few of the communities that enjoy the benefits and responsibilities of Treaty No. 2 land include: Ashern, Brandon, Dauphin, Minnedosa and Roblin. The First Nation communities of Treaty No. 2 are: Dauphin River, Ebb & Flow, Keeseekoowenin, Lake St. Martin, Lake Manitoba, Little Saskatchewan, O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi, Pinaymootang and Skownan.

TREATY NO. 3

Treaty No. 3 was entered into at the Northwest Angle of Lake of the Woods, Ontario on October 3, 1873. The Manitoba First Nation community of Treaty No. 3 is Buffalo Point. Manitoba communities that enjoy the benefits and responsibilities of Treaty No. 3 land include: Falcon Lake, Middlebro and Point du Bois.

TREATY NO. 4

Treaty No. 4 was entered into at Fort Qu'Appelle, Saskatchewan on September 15 and 21, 1874. The majority of the Treaty No. 4 territory is in Saskatchewan. However, an area of western Manitoba is included in Treaty No. 4 territory. Manitoba communities that enjoy the benefits and responsibilities of Treaty No. 4 land include: Birch River, Mafeking and Swan River. Manitoba First Nation Treaty No. 4 communities are: Gambler, Pine Creek, Rolling River, Sapotaweyak, Tootinaowaziibeeng, Waywayseecappo and Wuskwi Sipi.

TREATY NO. 5

Treaty No. 5 was entered into on September 20, 1875 at Berens River and September 24, 1875 at Norway House. The First Nation Treaty No. 5 communities are: Berens River, Black River, Bloodvein, Chemawawin, Cross Lake, Fisher River, Hollow Water, Kinonjeoshtegon, Little Grand Rapids, Misipawistik, Mosakahiken, Norway House, Opaskwayak, Pauingassi and Poplar River. Some of the Manitoba communities that enjoy the benefits and responsibilities of Treaty No. 5 are: Bisett, Cranberry Portage, Flin Flon, The Pas, and Thompson.

Adhesions to Treaty No. 5

Adhesions to Treaty No. 5 were entered into at various dates and locations starting in June 1908 at Split Lake and ending in September 2006 at O-Pipon-Na-Piwin. The First Nations who entered into Adhesions to Treaty No. 5 are: Bunibonibee, Fox Lake, Garden Hill, God's Lake, Granville Lake, Manto Sipi, Nisichawayasihk, O-Pip-On-Na-Piwin, Red Sucker Lake, Sayisi Dene, Shamattawa, St. Theresa Point, Tataskweyak, Wasagamack, War Lake and York Factory. Manitoba communities that enjoy the benefits and responsiblities of the Adhesions to Treaty No. 5 include: Churchill, Gillam, Leaf Rapids, and Lynn Lake.

TREATY NO. 6

Treaty No. 6 was negotiated and entered into on August 23 & 28, 1876 at Fort Carlton and September 19, 1876 at Fort Pitt, Saskatchewan, although the entire Treaty No. 6 territory lies within Saskatchewan the First Nation communities of Mathias Colomb and Marcel Colomb who participated in the making of Treaty No. 6 are within Manitoba.

TREATY NO. 10

Treaty No. 10 was entered into on multiple dates and locations in 1906. The majority of the Treaty No. 10 territory is within Saskatchewan but the Treaty No. 10 First Nation communities within Manitoba are Barren Lands and Northlands.

THE DAKOTA NATION

The Dakota people in Manitoba are not a party to the Numbered Treaties. However, they are recognized as having use and occupation of territories within Manitoba having secured alliances and arrangements with the Crown and other First Nations in Manitoba. Dakota communities in Manitoba are: Birdtail Sioux, Chanupawakpa, Dakota Tipi, Dakota Plains and Sioux Valley.

MAP DISCLAIMER: This map is provided as a public service by the TRCM. It is presented for illustrative purposes and does not imply the expression of any opinion on the part of the TRCM or their partners concerning the legal status of any First Nation or territory. The information contained in this map is derived from a number of sources which may, in part, not be current. Any inaccuracies found here are outside the control of the TRCM and any conclusions drawn from this map are the sole responsibility of the user. Due to the scale of the map the Treaty boundaries are approximate and do not reflect the actual Treaty boundaries as stated within the text of the Treaties. The boundaries are for general information purposes only.

For more information about the Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba please visit our website at www.trcm.ca or call the TRCM office at 1- 204-777-1871.



© Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba - 2017. All Rights Reserved.

Credit: Cartographer – Steven DeRoy, The Firelight Group

Credit: Treaty Boundary Research – Dr. Frank Tough, University of Alberta